Day 7

It’s Day 7 of the National Novel Writing Month endeavor and I’ve hit 11,960 words. The process moves forward in fits and starts.

I’m invested in these characters in a way I didn’t expect. I have to be careful not to shelter them at the expense of the plot or the arc of the story. The fantasy aspect I first envisioned is taking a back seat to the relationships between these 10 characters. It’s an eye-opening process, as I’ve been a short story writer for so many, many years.

My writing buddy, Mark, is also keeping up with the daily word count. His encouragement and words of wisdom are invaluable. Our two stories couldn’t be more different. His is a coming-of-age novel set in the 1970’s. Mine is a contemporary story about middle school aged students and the adults in their lives.

I started the process with a big crush on the idea behind the novel – what I’ve called a “No-mance.” But I think the honeymoon may be over and the difficult work of making this marriage work is upon me.

Leave a Reply

