Microfiction

I’m enamoured with brief fiction. I love the process of distilling a story into its most essential words. When I read others’ microfiction, I like the tightness of their prose. When microfiction is successful, its language is carefully chosen; those few words pack a whallop. Really good microfiction leaves me wanting more.

What I like best about creating in the microfiction format is the opportunity to surprise. I tend to favor an ambiguous denoument. I believe that the writer should leave room for the reader to ask queestions that can’t be answered within the story itself. Short as they are, these brief stories must have resonance. The best yardstick for that caveat is the re-read factor. If the reader wants to return to the start and read again, I’ve succeeded.

One comment on “Microfiction

  1. Mark Thornhill says:

    I also like brief fiction and am sometimes impatient with writers who, rather than “get to the point,” go on for pages developing setting and character. I’m not saying setting and character build-up aren’t important. I just prefer a story that moves at a good pace without meandering on long passages of setting.

Leave a Reply

